Tripping On The Edge

Back up north I am currently playing catch up at work while singing songs from different acts I got to see at the New Directions Conference down in Falmouth. Looking back over the whole conference it was, to sum up, awe-inspiring. I want to write about every single act, every single singer, poet, dancer and comedy act however  realistically there is too many to write about. Over the next month I will be posting about my top 10, if I can just keep it to 10.

To quote Kirstie and Phil it was all about location, location, location. The setting for the conference was beautiful, professional and supplied us with amazing cake what more could you ask for? Well played Falmouth University!

For the conference itself we were based at Falmouth University, Penryn campus. The hub of activity was in the Academy of Music and Theatre Arts (AMATA) which is a purpose-built live venue housing an array of flexible theatre spaces, performance, rehearsal and recording studios. I was also told they had a box office and exhibition areas. The building and setting was the ideal spot for the conference and the wide range of act performing. The grounds of the university were simply stunning which was the cherry on top of the very delicious cake.

During the conference we took a boat trip around Falmouth harbour eating cornish pasties and drinking cornish cider. Such a stunning and very yummy combination.

This was my first time to ‘the edge’ so after the conference I decided to stay an extra few days to have a little adventure. Tripping on the edge of England in Falmouth and Newquay  I found the bays were breathtaking, the people all wore flip flops and I got “ye alright me bird” a lot. I spent a lot of time at the beach, I had to relive the days of rock pooling searching under rocks for little crabs and fish. I ate endless amounts of cornish pasties, went for long walks around the coast and had drinks with the most beautiful views of Newquay harbour. It was the perfect way of ending my three weeks away from the office.

 

While down south I got to meet lots of interesting people, see some beautiful places and had the privilege of watching a wide range of shows. I recently have been asked if I am interested in writing a ‘latest news item’ for the National Rural Touring Forum (NRTF) website. This is a extremely exciting element to the conference blogs I have posted so far, writing posts for NRTF is going to be a great amazing little space for me to write about shows, news, and events.

Their website represents a number of rural touring schemes and rural arts development agencies. Their aim is to help local people and communities in promoting high quality arts events in rural venues. Working at Spring Bank Arts we work with Live & Local to bring new exciting acts to the little town of New Mills in Derbyshire. NRTF website is a key platform for rural venues to keep connected with the latest news and events. Working for an arts centre in a rural town it has given us helpful tools for promoting new exciting acts so it will be great to write little snippets for their website!

Have a look at their website:

http://www.ruraltouring.org/

…stay in the loop too by following them on twitter @Ruraltouring

Also if you are playing catch up take a look at my previous blog posts to see my daily run through of the New Directions conference, I listed all the acts I got the chance to see and what the general days were like. Warning you make have a serious craving for cake after reading them!

 

 

Off to make a brew x

Leave a Reply

